2 min read

68 Students Medal in National French Contest, 3 Students Lead Nation


The results of Le Grand Concours 2020 are in and impressive! 

Sixty-eight of the 147 Waring students who participated in the National French Contest were named national laureates. For the first time ever, three Waring students led their division by posting national high scores.

Le Grand Concours is the National French Contest for students in middle and high school. This year 68,790 students were enrolled across the US. The competition uses authentic cultural material from a number of francophone countries and tests students’ oral comprehension, reading, and grammar knowledge. The contest places students in different fluency categories depending on their backgrounds to ensure fairness. It takes into account their levels of French, years of study of the language, and also family backgrounds. 

This year, once again, our students excelled in the Grand Concours. Waring is proud to have 68 national laureates receiving 68 medals: 9 gold (95th percentile), 27 silver (85th or 90th percentile), 29 bronze (75th or 80th percentile), and 3 platinum medals for the highest score in a division!

Bronze medal recipients
FLES 2A:  Lucy Schaeffer, Avery Cooper, Una Norton
FLES 2B:  Wilhelmina Rolf Thaemert
Level 01:  Lola Prendergast, Harry Strunk, Claire Veenema
Level 1:  Camille Gimbrere, Tyler Hylton, Olive Lyons-McLin, Charlie Pound, Alex Brevde
Level 2:  Rowan Mulder, Belle Leonard, Maud Karambis, Olive Sauder, Ari Dimond-Putnam, Katharine Judy, Lou Penaloza
Level 3:  Anabelle Palumbo, Cordelia Rozmiarek, Caitlin Bachner, Molly Cruickshank
Level 4:  Henry Symes, Luca Barendsen-Rossi, Griffin Wells, Ursula Siegfried, Mattie Knowles
Level 5:  Luna Schiller

Silver medal recipients
FLES 2A:  Dylan Cook
FLES 2B:  Gianna Grabowski, Ella Strong
Level 01:  Miranda Cotter-Holland, Paolo Calderaro
Level 1:  Elodie Lapointe, Zoe Waller, Mat Lee, Piper Judy, Theo Van Alen
Level 2:  Olga Gadmer Langman, Owen Cooper, Ananda Corum, Cecily Trowbridge, Rowan Malatesta, Collin Keegan, Grace Laverty
Level 3:  Georgia Nourse, Lumiere Kazadi, Beatrix Karambis, Theo Cabot
Level 4:  Sparhawk Mulder, Ella Bernard, Jack Martin, Maddie Jutras
Level 5:  Swara Douglas, Betta Tham

Gold medal recipients
Level 1:  Ella Knowles, Beryl Clarey
Level 2:  Alma Power, Amelia Wyler, Ellie Soininen, Chris Douglas
Level 3:  Gyani Pradhan Wong Ah Sui, Elli Gile
Level 5:  Phoebe Holz

Platinum medal recipient
Level 2:  Julie Durning
Level 3:  Cole Cunningham, Henry Younger

Waring Faculty
Written by Waring Faculty